Book, Review

What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

Tittle: What To Say Next


Author: Julie Buxbaum

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

My Rating: ❤️❤️❤️❤️

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publication Date: July 11, 2017

Goodreads Synopsis:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her. 

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth? (less)

Special thanks to Fay from Bibliophile Soprano for hosting this PH Blog Tour!

I’ve read Julie’s first YA novel Tell Me Three Things and I absolutely loved it. In fact, it even made its way to my Top 10 Reads of 2016. So, when I find out she’ll be releasing a new book this year, of course, it immediately became one of my most anticipated releases of 2017.

So..
Yeah..

What To Say Next

This book is heartbreakingly beautiful. There’s just something with the way Julie writes that once you start readjng: you just can’t stop. Next thing you notice, you are already falling in love with the characters. 

This book’s not very light, not dark either—What To Say Next is beautiful just the way it is.

I love that it’s told in a dual point of view. I enjoyed bearing David’s and Kit’s thoughts. I find it interesting to be in David’s head, he’s just really smart and lost(?) at the same time. I just want to give him a big hug. Especially when he’s really struggling and panicking.  And Kit, the sweet Kitty Cat, seeing her handle all these trials that life throws at her is just… devastating. She deserves so much love. David and Kit will now hold a special place in my heart.

Oh, how much I adore David’s family. They are just very supportive of him and are willing to do anything just to help him through. 😍

This book will truly let you feel a whirlwind of emotions. Seeing David and Kit come together and try to find a place where they truly belong is both really heartbreaking and adorable. It really is a great experience to see their friendship progresses and maybe even grow into something more. What that is, we’ll find out soon enough.

What To Say Next is a wonderful, heartwarming story you don’t wanna miss. 💕


                            Find Out More About The Blog Tour And Join The Giveaway!

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum”

  1. I’m super super excited to read this book! I really enjoyed Tell Me Three Things as well. Thanks for such an awesome review. It got me pumped to read What To Say Next!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s